EGBD Grand Final 2018

The East Gippsland Bowls Division grand final was held at Bairnsdale Bowls Club on the 24th February and Metung Bowls Club was represented by our Division 4 side, playing Paynesville.DSC_0380


Conditions didn’t make the contest any easier with the wind blowing at over 30 km/hr during the afternoon and with gusts exceeding 50 km/hr.  The temperature during the first half of the match rose from 33.5C to almost 37C.

Just prior to the 3:00pm break the cool change swept through with temperatures plummeting to the low 20s and with a dumping of 10mm of rain, completely changing conditions on the rinks and adding to the challenge faced by all players.DSC_0369DSC_0370

Unfortunately for our team Paynesville were the better side on the day, defeating Metung by 6 shots, with a score of 48 to 42, to win the pennant.


Despite our loss our side can be proud that, being from one of the small clubs in the EGBD, we made it to the grand final.  Congratulations to the team on their achievement.DSC_0383

Pennant finals

Congratulations to Metung’s Division 4 pennant team  who secured a place in the finals last week, defeating the top side in the division Bairnsdale Golf Blue and, today, made it through the first round of the finals defeating Bairnsdale Golf White, 51 – 47.


The team: Ken Warner, Peter McNair, Barb Dooley, Rae Whelan, Chris Wain, Cheryl Warner, David Kelsey, Judy Banks & Bernie Fitzgerald.

Good luck for next weeks match when you play Bairnsdale Golf Blue again.

President’s Day – 2018

Metung Bowls Club held its President’s Day for 2018 on the 31st January with teams from Metung, Bruthen, Bairnsdale, Orbost, Tambo Valley, Lakes Entrance, Bairnsdale Golf and Lindenow clubs participating.  The day was generously sponsored by Stephen Baggs Funerals and local member Tim Bull.



The friendly atmosphere made the day an enjoyable one and, apart from the odd bit of drizzle, the weather was very kind.





The lunch and afternoon tea provided by the membership of the club was enjoyed by all.



Results from the day’s play were:

Ditch to Ditch: Graeme Clark, Rob Garbutt, Pauline Murray & Colleen Parker


Best First Game:   Bev Hutchison, Jo Howes, Jill Hewat & Nola Hall.


Best Second Game:   Bill Cornwall, Mal McPherson, Peter O’Keefe & Graeme Clarke.


Runners Up:   Ron Hatcher, Chris Frew, Margaret Coulton & Maureen Cooney.


Winners:   Cheryl Warner, Ken Warner, Nan Kelsey & Alex Dunbar.



DSC_0297 cropped


DSC_0298 cropped


DSC_0297 cropped2

DSC_0304 cropped






DSC_0331 cropped

DSC_0326 cropped

DSC_0336 cropped

DSC_0336 cropped2


Christmas celebrations 2017

A relaxed and fun night was had by all at the club Christmas party this year.


President, John Roelofs, even had us all singing the refrain to his cheeky song about the club.

The following awards were presented by secretary, Peter Attard:

The Wallflower Award for the most shy and retiring member to Barry Healy.Wallflower Award - Barry Healy (3)

The Best Coiffure Award, for the member with the most high maintenance hairdo, to Nan Kelsey.Best Coiffured - Nan Kelsey

The Raconteur Award, for the member who hates “tall tales” and cheeky jokes to Rob Garbutt.DSC_0314

The Rhett Butler Award, to the member who just doesn’t “give a damn” about regulations and having things “just so”, to Heather Twyerould.DSC_0310

The Sartorial Splendour Award, for the member who spends the most time on their attire, to Jim Beale.Best Dressed - Jim Beale

And the Best Aussie Accent Award, for the member who speaks in the best “Strine” and has the best grasp of Aussie Slang, to Jeanette Fraser.

Best Aussie Accent - Jeanette Fraser (2)

East Gippsland Bowls Division Novices Tournament 2017

A beautiful day  was enjoyed by the contestants in the East Gippsland Bowls Division Novices Men’s and Women’s Singles Championship held at Metung Bowls Club on Sunday  the 12th of November.  Representatives from Bruthen, Paynesville, Lindenow, Bairnsdale and Metung took part. Very close morning games results

set up for interesting  finals games in the afternoon. Spectators were treated to a very high standard of bowling for the whole day and were not let down in the grand finals. The Mens Championship was won by Mitch Clague from Bruthen whilst the Womens was won by Barb Dooley from Metung. Congratulations to them both.

Season Opening 2017

Metung Bowls Club began the Pennant season with a friendly social match and an enjoyable day was had by all. Winners on the day were Chris Wain, Jim Beale & Alan Rowe.