Club Championship Presentation 2020-2021

11th April 2021

A chilly day out there but managed to get in a few ends before the presentations.

Congratulations to all the winners;

Mens A Grade Champion – Richard Dooley

Ladies A Grade Champion – Mandy Beale

Mens B Grade Champion – Clint Overton

Ladies B Grade Champion – Mandy Beale

Ladies Pairs Champions – Barb Dooley & Mandy Beale

Mens Pairs Champions – Jim Beale & Richard Dooley

Mixed Pairs Champions – Graham Watson & Pam Thomas

Ladies Triples Champions – Barb Dooley, Mandy Beale & Pam Thomas

Mens Triples Champions – John Roelof, Graham Watson & Kevin Watson

Mens Fours Champions – Steve Colbeck, Ian Williams, Clint Overton, Chris Wain (absent)

Ladies 100 Up Champion – Christine Elliott

Mens 100 Up Champion – Kevin Watson

Also congratulations to all 4 teams who were presented with their “8” badges.

A great effort by the club and a fantastic evening shared by all.

Official Opening of BBQ Area

7th March 2021

After many voluntary hours by our fantastic members the Official Opening of the new BBQ Area and Shedding was held in conjunction with the Triples Competition.

A huge thank you goes to all those involved with helping the club improve it’s facilities.

The additional area which contains 2 storage rooms, covered seating and large bbq area is sure to get plenty of use with our ever increasing number of members.

Metung Bowls Club Triples

7th March 2021

A fantastic day was had by all members of the club who competed in the Triples inhouse competition.

The weather was fine and all 30 bowlers enjoyed 2 games of 12 ends throughout the day followed by a bbq dinner.

Winners of the first game were Kieren, Attila & Pauline. Runners Up were Skip, Ernie & Jim.

Winners of the second game were John, Janette & Pauline (again!). Runners Up were Richard, John & Jim.

Lucky Lead went to Maree. Lucky Third went to Alan and Lucky Skip went to Peter.

Visit by bowlers from the Geelong area – 24th September 2019

On the 24th September Metung Bowls Club welcomed a group of 47 bowlers from the Geelong area for an afternoon of bowls.  DSC_0003DSC_0004DSC_0005

A light lunch of soup, sandwiches & dessert was followed by a friendly game.

DSC_0008 - crop #1DSC_0009DSC_0010 croppedDSC_0008 - crop #2DSC_0011 - crop #1DSC_0012DSC_0020 - crop#1DSC_0022 - crop #1DSC_0025 - crop#2DSC_0022 - crop #2DSC_0023DSC_0026DSC_0028DSC_0020 - crop#2DSC_0016DSC_0027DSC_0014 - crop #2DSC_0019DSC_0013 - crop #2DSC_0011 - crop #2DSC_0013 - crop #1DSC_0021DSC_0013DSC_0014 - crop #1

Presentations were made to the winners and runners-up…..DSC_0032DSC_0033

to the hosts……DSC_0037


and to the organizers.  DSC_0043

Raffle prizes were drawn.DSC_0029DSC_0048DSC_0036DSC_0035DSC_0049

Thanks go to Bunnings for donating our major prize of an electric tool kit.DSC_0007

Season Opening 2019

Mother Nature turned on another glorious day for Club’s official opening day and we were pleased to have the support of the EGBD President & Secretary who attended on the day.


One of our longest serving members, Barry Healy, rolled the jack & the first bowl….


before the teams were announced by Judi Banks.  DSC_0012DSC_0011

Members & guests enjoyed a lighthearted game of bowls…..DSC_0014DSC_0017DSC_0022DSC_0020

and later enjoyed an afternoon tea of home-made offerings…..


and presentations were made to the winning team.DSC_0028DSC_0032DSC_0033DSC_0034

EGBD Champion of Champion results for Metung Bowls Club members – Season 2018 – 2019

Congratulations to Members of the Metung Bowls Club who competed in the EGBD Champion of Champions events for season 2018 – 2019.

Heather Twyerould came runner up in the Ladies Singles Champion of Champions held on the 27th January after playing 2 games prior to her final against her opponent who had a bye in the first round.

Heather Twyerould

Richard Dooley & Jim Beale competed in the Mens Pairs whilst Dorothy Schroeder & Pauline Clearson competed in the Ladies Pairs in the EGBD Champion of Champions held on the 24th March.  Both pairs also came runners up.

Considering Metung is a small club and all our players were  up against Division 1 players from one of the big clubs in this region their achievement is fantastic.

Metung Bowls Club – Presentation Night season 2018 – 2019

Metung Bowls Club had something to celebrate on Presentation Night. Although we are one of the small clubs in the East Gippsland Bowls Division our members showed that we can compete with the big clubs, achieving runners up in the EGBD Ladies singles, Ladies Pairs and Mens Pairs championships. A Life Membership was also awarded on the night, to one of our members who has contributed much time and effort to the Club since joining the club in 2000. Congratulations David.



Pauline Clearson and Dorothy Schroeder were not only our club Ladies Pairs Champions but were also runners-up in the EGBD Ladies Pairs championships.


Richard Dooley was presented with his, and partner Jim Beale’s, awards for not only the club’s Men’s Pairs Championship but for runners-up in the EGBD Men’s Pairs championship by Vice President Dorothy Schroeder.

DSC_0006 cropped

Heather Twyerould became our club Ladies Singles Championship this year as well as being runner-up in the EGBD Ladies Singles championship.


Despite stiff competition from the men President Peter Attard won the club’s Men’s Singles Championship.


Many years of dedication to the club were recognized when David Kelsey was awarded a Life Membership of the Metung Bowls Club.


Two of our Life Members – David Kelsey and Rae Whelan


Club Champions Heater Twyerould & Peter Attard with their trophies.

Tambo Valley Shield – 14th April 2019

Players from Metung Bowls Club travelled to Swifts Creek on the 14th April to participate in the annual challenge with the Tambo Valley Bowls Club for the Tambo Valley Shield. The day is mainly about enjoying the game but we were lucky enough to beat Tambo Valley on their own turf so we have brought the shield back home again. Thanks to everyone at Tambo Valley BC for a wonderful day, for the camaraderie and for the delicious lunch you put on for us.IMG_3731IMG_3732IMG_3733IMG_3734

President’s Invitational Day – 21st March 2019

Players from Orbost, Lakes Entrance, Lindenow, Bruthen, Bairnsdale, Lakes Entrance & Bairnsdale Golf bowls clubs participated in the Metung Bowls Club’s President’s Invitational Day on Thursday 21st March.  DSC_0002DSC_0005DSC_0009DSC_0018The day was generously sponsored by Metung Discount Pharmacy, The Anchorage B & B, and AJ & AL Beale Builders.  Two games of twelve ends were played, one before and the other after a lunch of BBQ’d meat with salad and scalloped potatoes, followed by a dessert of either home made apple pie, chocolate or raspberry cheesecake. (Many players stated that they came as much for the delicious meal as the game).


Following the second game an afternoon tea of fresh fruit, cheese and crackers was enjoyed whilst the raffle was drawn and the presentations were made.IMG_3632IMG_3611IMG_3618IMG_3615IMG_3631IMG_3614

1st game winners were a team from Lakes Entrance Bowls Club:  Lorna Tiziani, L Clare, H Todd & R Natzol.1st game winners Lorna Tiziani, L Clare, H Todd & R Natzol - Lakes Entrance

Second game winners were a team from Metung Bowls Club.  (Left to right):   John Miller, Ken Warner, Cheryl Warner & Alex Dunbar.2nd game winners John Miller, Ken & Cheryl Warner & Alex Dunbar - Metung BC

The overall runners up were representatives from the Executive of the East Gippsland Bowls Division.  (Left to right):    Don Cameron (Bairnsdale Golf BC), John Kool (Lakes Entrance BC), Fay Lewis & John Lewis (Bruthen BC).Runners up EGBD exec Don Cameron, John Kool, Fay & John Lewis

The overall winners on the day were another team from Lakes Entrance Bowls Club:        Margaret Brandhoj, Kel Brandhoj, Benny Rosati & Lena Rosati.Overall winners Margaret & Kel Brandhoj and Benny & Lena Rosati - Lakes Entrance BC